Phase I Office Door

Phase I of Office Barn Door – complete

Remember my purchase a couple months ago? I bought the barndoor hardware this weekend at Callahan’s Hardware – less than $100 (for a 6’ track) plus a can of spray paint to make the color look more uniform. 

Started to strip the blue paint today, but I’m not done though. 😦 As you can see from the progression of photos, there was another layer. DOH! (insert long strings of expletives here)

I got most of the blue off and it confirmed that the wood that I’m seeing isn’t really worth refinishing to the point of staining. SO the original plan of painting it in Benjamin Moore’s Wrought Iron stands. 

Next week I hope to finish that side and start filling the nail/screw holes so it can be painted after. 

I’ll put another 2 or 3 coats of Satin Nickel on the barndoor hardware and then it’ll be close to install. 

The brass door hardware has been removed so I can clean it. I just need to research a chemical free way of cleaning that. 

Leave a comment