Tree Stump Table Recap

Side table is done!

It was a quick, fun project especially after learning about a more natural way of staining the wood.

I wasn’t pleased with the Minwax express stuff so I sanded much of it off and threw on 2 coats of strong black tea. The next day I put 2 coats of the vinegar-steel wool solution and then one more coat of tea that night.

2 coats of polyurethane on the sides, 3 on the top.

The result was still too shiny for modern so I used ‘0000’ steel wool to dull the shine.

It’s pretty cool now and once I get wood or bamboo flooring, I’ll need to add some feet to protect it from scuffs.

Leave a Reply

