Planning on the fireplace

So my idea for using a reclaimed beam for my mantel might not match the rest of the house.

I’m now looking at a metal mantel. Zinc maybe? I am not going to use new stainless steel because it would be too shiny and new.

I was thinking patinated/rustic steel but that might be too heavy even though I love that look.

Copper would be cool especially with some patina.

Zinc looks malleable enough that I could make this mantle myself and it can be manipulated to look aged. Plus it is fairly light compared to steel.

I’ll continue to look around.

I am still trying to find the right medium for texturing the fireplace wall. I want a relatively smooth surface with rough patches done on purpose – like poured cement.

As far as the actual fireplace, I will probably sand and repaint it a flat black. I like the idea of refacing it but that is a little pricey.

Leave a Reply

