FIreplace Project Has Begun!

The before pic.

The before pic.

Big wood screws, I guess that support piece wasn't going anywhere.

Big wood screws, I guess that support piece wasn’t going anywhere.

 

Stupid big bolts.

Stupid big bolts.

 

Oops, I busted some of the cement board. :(

Oops, I busted some of the cement board. 😦

 

IMG_1194So I started the fireplace refresh this afternoon. Before starting though, I took a pic to show the before.

The first thing I did was remove the mantle. The wood screws in my hand were HUGE but there were also some bolts attached to the piece of wood that held the mantle. I was happy that I didn’t need to cut through them in order to remove.

Next, I took my wood chisel (I need an actual pry bar) and carefully pried the tile off. (It’s black slate that I’ll be taking to the Habitat Re-Store sometime in the next week or two) I managed to only break 3 tiles but chipped a few. :-/

Oh, as I pried off the tiles, I kept spraying with bug spray. There were some creepy crawlies so I made sure I took care of them.

I don’t know if you could see, I tore off some of the cement backer board or its equivalent. So it was off to Lowes I for a sheet.

I had to stop midway through attaching the backerboard. I was getting tired and hungry. I’ll use the rest of the board to attach so that I can minimize the joint compound I’ll be using to smooth out the wall.

Leave a Reply

