Concrete is fixed!

This morning I worked on the fireplace once again. I probably spent the about a half hour mixing the stuff in my garage though but I made enough.

I had a bit of a time constraint – I was going to watch WWZ at 2 so I allowed myself until about 1ish to finish.

I worked fairly quickly. The Deco-Poz was a little runny but I was tired of mixing the stuff. It troweled on really nicely though. Much better than the Quikrete stuff. Ardex is still tops but the price isn’t. I probably would have needed a and a half more bags today if I had bought that stuff.

So I was pretty much done a little after 12 and still had extra cement so I poured out the hearth as well.

IMG_1253

 

Then I had to do a quick rinse of the tools and clean up for the movie. Luckily I’m a couple miles away so I was there in plenty of time. World War Z was pretty cool too.

After the movie, I went home and really thought I’d come back to 2 concrete covered cats. I didn’t (WHEW!) but I did come home to some paw prints on my hearth.

IMG_1254

I spent a couple hours sanding the concrete down and then troweling another layer on the hearth. The prints aren’t completely covered but they’re more faint.

IMG_1257

 

Here is the fireplace now.

IMG_1256

 

So the next step is to either stain & seal or use a tinted sealer. I want the vertical space to be a little more subtle than the hearth. I could go a little darker and it won’t be pitch black like before.

Until next time. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

