Metal surround for fireplace is cut

I’m one step closer to getting the fireplace complete.

I just finished cutting out the metal pieces that I’ll use for the surround.

The machine in the pic is a sheet metal cutter and greatest thing ever! It took me less than an hour to get everything cut. Had I used tin snips I’d still be cutting, I’m sure.

There is still a 3′ x 5′ piece left over. I think if I find the perfect salvaged desk, I’ll top it with the remaining.

Working with zinc for this project will also determine if I want to continue using it (spare bath surround? Kitchen backsplash?) or not.

20130720-151547.jpg

Leave a Reply

