I Revamped my Coffee Table!

I had been looking to replace my coffee table for a while. I even blogged about it earlier this year. In addition to those ideas, I thought of repurposing a pallet or even using a large tree stump.

I decided to get a circular saw (bought a used one for $20) and make my table more smaller.

Here (again) is the before picture –  very big and clunky.

So the first thing I did after taking the legs off was cut it so it was rectangular instead of square. Then I sanded the espresso stain down. What surprised me was the reddish color wood underneath. I even sanded down the underside.

IMG_1598 IMG_1597

 

Once I was done, I used my vinegar and steel wool solution to tone down some of the color before I took my heat gun to it, giving it another dimension of character.

IMG_1599

 

After I was done with the messy stuff, I brought it into the house to add the oil sealant and add the legs. I was also starting to get gnawed by bugs (what else is new). As you can see, Puck was quick to explore the new table.

IMG_1604

 

So this was right after the sealant was added and the legs. Once the oil’s soaked in, it won’t be as dark.

IMG_1606

Another view to show the cool legs. I got them from a company called Modern Legs. These are known as “just the tip”.

IMG_1607

 

Leave a Reply

