Revamped “sunburst” Mirror (edited)

I bought this Ikea mirror about the time I got my house. It was what started my love for Mid-Century Modern.

 

IMG_2072

 

What I really wanted was something with more spokes and of course, the idea would be a real MCM sunburst mirror. Instead, I ended up revamping my existing mirror last night. I was at Hobby Lobby and they had this candle holder (50% off) that had what I guess were supposed to be metal “branches” that formed a circle. I’ve seen somewhere on a blog where someone flattened it out and made their own mirror so I was going to go with that idea.

I couldn’t find a mirror for the middle and decided to see if I could combine it with my existing mirror.

IMG_2069

 

This was after using the Chrome spray paint I bought for my credenza. Some of the spokes broke off when I flattened it out so I had to hot glue them to the back.

Around midnight, when it all dried, I HAD to hang it up. IMG_2071

I’ll add some small mirrors eventually to make it look more symmetrical.

I had played around with the looking glass paint on the mirror before and that is why some of it looks a little tarnished. A lot of it came off when I taped it off for the chrome. There is still just a hint of it to give it a retro vibe.

Updated 18 Nov

20131118-174003.jpg

Leave a Reply

