My Tetra Pak Lamp

Over a year ago, I came across this article and thought it was a neat way to reuse items that would normally be thrown in recycling or the trash.

I did some research on how to create it and even found a page on Facebook that showed others creating neat lighting fixtures made of tetra paks.

So I attempted the sphrere but it was becoming blobby and I sort of lost my count on the circle so I gave up on it. Doing this origami thing wasn’t easy but I kept collecting the containers. (Being in Texas, I drank a lot of coconut water over the summer, post run).

Then I tried to do a cylindrical shape but because I didn’t have the support along the sides, it kept collapsing on itself. Back to the drawing board.

So I tried again. This time, I thought an oval shape was my ideal outcome. I realized though that it was easier to create 2 hemispheres and then joined them together.

lamp 2 I took apart the fabric of an old, oval shaped lamp shade and used the skeleton as a frame for the inside. I also tried using some transparency film to give it a transluscent look but that plastic was not meant to be folded into little shapes.

By the time I was done last night, it was time to get ready for bed. I didn’t really have a chance to fluff out the shape or anything but will tonight. I might have to replace some of the plastic hexagons with tetra pak ones but that’s okay.

I love the way the light plays onto the walls. I still have lots more pieces to create another fixture which I probably will work on later.

lamp 1

Leave a Reply

