Living Room (current and future plans)

 

 

I got my rug pad yesterday along with my larger area rug. I never had a need for them before with carpeted floors and then with the concrete subfloor but with my new hardwoods, I knew I wanted to protect them as much as possible.

I also wanted to layer area rugs down and bought this rug from one of the big box stores. Not bad for $149 and it is polypropylene that’s made to look like a jute rug.

20140107-202706.jpg

 

Next I layered my zebra patterned rug over it (my Habitat Re-Store purchase for $109) before setting my furniture pieces back on. Years ago, I probably would never have gone with such a bold pattern as this but I LOVE it! It adds to the eclectic vibe. Sadly, I now need to figure out a couch because my current one is way TOO traditional for the room now.

 

20140107-202821.jpg

 

I know ‘Future Couch’ will be a medium grey microfiber type fabric. I need something that is modern but has that retro vibe as well. For my accent chairs, I can go brighter and will probably do a velvet type material on the chair and ottoman with a similar color family for ‘Future Accent Chair 2’.

Possible colors range from turquoise to teal. I did think about a chartreuse-like color but I thought that was just too much but won’t be opposed to having an accent pillow with that color in it.

My liquor cabinet will need to be repainted and I’m thinking a high gloss reddish coral. When I build out my hall bench, it will be painted with the same color.

I am also going to look for a way to soften my existing roman shades by adding fabric over the dark bamboo.

This year, I will build out my fireplace mantel and add more pipe shelving.

That should keep me busy until I work on the other DIY ideas for the other rooms (next post).

2 thoughts on “Living Room (current and future plans)

Leave a Reply

