Spare Bathroom Update

Just a few updates:

I installed a new towel bar – it’s Moen’s Align series in Brushed Nickel. It was not an easy feat to install and I think I might have done it easier without using the paper template.

IMG_3110

I got a new shower curtain – Mid Century inspired and I think it looks pretty cool in the room. The shower rod and hardware is still oil rubbed bronze because I’m debating whether or not to get a curved rod or not.

IMG_3123

I removed the outdated medicine cabinet. It was too big for the room as well as outdated (in a bad way). The picture below was before I replaced the lighting.

Old lighting system

voila

IMG_3113

Without the large medicine cabinet, I had to change out the lighting as well. The three glass pieces were heavy and weighed down the light bar. I didn’t want to buy a whole new light system again so I looked around for something I could build/create that was simple (not requiring a whole lot of wiring).

I found a blog of an idea that came from a local restaurant here in Austin

. The idea was simple, easy and the best thing was the parts could be changed around over and over. I quickly went to the store and bought some pieces.

IMG_3103

Then I went about in spray painting them in Brilliant Silver.

IMG_3107

I took down the old light, painted the wall and installed the lighting. I changed it around a few times and might still tweak it a little more.

IMG_3114 IMG_3115IMG_3121

I love the idea of using different bulbs (LEDs of course) and I had to remind myself I didn’t have to create symmetry and it would still look cool.

I do have a medicine cabinet to replace the monstrosity (that I donated already to the Habitat store). It’s a vintage one made by Lawson and it’s currently being spray painted since it came from an old house.

IMG_3122

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spare Bathroom Update

  1. Hi! this idea looks so cool! I’m planning a similar project and will be using different types of LED bulbs. It’s okay to use different bulbs with different brightness/watts, right? Thanks!

      • Thank you! I consulted my dad about it and he said he would use the same wattage for all the bulbs. I think it would still look good, right? 2w and 4w bulbs together. I’m going to use 8…I hope it works…

Leave a Reply

