Bathroom Shelves

After adding a towel bar, hand towel bar and stuff, I realized I needed some sort of shelf (or two) for small storage in the Guest Bath. The Moen Align series didn’t have a shelf that matched the design of the towel accessories. I looked at other bathroom shelves but nothing caught my eye.

I decided to look at using a floating shelf or two but steel ones were a bit pricey. That was when I decided to look at vintage and either spray paint it silver or go completely funky and do a brilliant green. Enter Etsy (one of my favorite sites now) and I looked at a few mid-century shelves that looked pretty cool, but didn’t say “buy me now!” for one reason or another.

Then I saw an ad for these industrial shelves. They were probably office type shelves but were relatively small (less than a foot across) but they were interesting with the curled edge. They completely captured my attention because they were industrial looking and were different. So I ordered 2. When I got them, there were a few rust spots and scratches. They were also in the blah government gray color.

photo 1

(Yes, the bathroom isn’t completely painted yet and probably won’t be until I figure out whether or not I just want to repaint the vanity and just replace the top or not. I’m currently leaning towards repainting the vanity cabinet and doing a new sink and faucet—but that probably won’t happen until next year.)

It was a quick project that I started and finished in a few hours. I first used a wire brush to get some of the more rustier areas clean before priming the pieces.

photo 2

Then I used Brilliant Silver paint on them (top and bottom—at one point I thought about flipping the shelves over so the lip would be on the top instead of the bottom but changed my mind on that). The first time I sprayed the tops, I got a splattered pattern so went over it again with some primer and then added another coat of the silvery paint.

When they finally were dry (which doesn’t take long in this Texas heat), I installed them. This probably took the longest because I couldn’t use my drill to screw them down because of the way they’re made. The cool thing was I had my small level set on the shelf so I made sure it was perfectly level.

photo

photo 3

 

photo 5

 

I debated whether or not to use a bright green, to complement the towels but they only had the big cans of spray paint and it would have been a waste of money. That was why I opted for the silver.

It’s not the same finish as the brushed nickel like the towel accessories (which was what I had originally wanted, but I think it works. The fancy soap is sitting on a piece of tile—a cool sample I got when I was looking at re-tiling the guest bath with actual stone tile (I think this piece is soapstone).

2 thoughts on “Bathroom Shelves

Leave a Reply

