New Coffee Table

A while back, I modified my blocky coffee table and added some hairpin legs. (Okay in looking at the time stamp, it was less than a year ago.) It was cool because I had that center area to put things like my remote and stuff.

It didn’t take long for me to realize it wasn’t practical because I ended up using only a small portion AND I had cut it down too short.

Thanks to Etsy, I bought a Russian Olive slab. It was cool because it’s considered an evasive tree, much like the juniper I have for the cat trees. I would have felt bad if someone clearcut a forest for these slabs but that wasn’t the case.

photo 1 (Puck inspecting the slab to make sure it’s okay)

After peeling most of the loose bark, I used a couple different oils to protect the slab. I used the remaining clear penetrating oil from the cat trees and my fireplace redo (it had some dark earth pigment blended in) and then followed it up with mineral oil (it’s a food safe product and you can get it at the drug store – just don’t buy too many bottles at once because it is used as a laxative).

I didn’t want any shine on the slab, which is why I didn’t use a varnish or polyurethane product.

photo 2 Top

photo 3 Bottom has a slightly rougher finish but still looks cool.

After a few coats and it had soaked in, I added the hairpin legs and brought it inside.

photo 4

 

 

It is perfect (though I did rotate it 180 degrees). I can eat comfortably on the table and have my laptop up at the same time with no problem. (In case you’re wondering, the thing in the background that’s wrapped up is my blue velvet chair that I’m reupholstering). 

 

2 thoughts on “New Coffee Table

Leave a Reply

