Box Spring Cover

 

I ordered a bed last week and thought about some sort of mattress cover or something to hide the box spring.

 

I had used a dust ruffle for a while even though it didn’t really work with my last bed (sleigh style). The new bed was a panel bed which wouldn’t accommodate a dust ruffle either. Plus, with two cats, it got dirty QUICK.

I tried using a sheet and tucking the ends under but it never looked neat.

Searching the internet, I found that there were covers specifically made for box springs but they were a bit spendy and looked boring.

Of course then I looked at DIY sites for ideas. I found one that seemed interesting —using fabric, a staple gun, and some product to adhere to the top of the box spring.

So I went to one fabric store and found this in the home fabric section. I bought 2.5 yards just to be safe.

IMG_4290

I cut out the fabric wide enough to cover the sides and at first, tried to use stitch tape for the top of the box spring. Big mistake because I sort of burned a couple holes from the iron. Since I didn’t have any fabric glue, I ended up using my trusty hot glue gun instead and first covered the corners before covering the sides.

What I forgot to do was post a before pic of the box spring but the pic below sort of works.

IMG_4293

 

I did pay a price on the heat gun and that was the form of some nasty blisters. 😦 I was icing my fingers when I took the pic.

IMG_4294

 

But it looked good once it was done and that was the important thing.

IMG_4291

And when it peeks out from the bed:

IMG_4320 Not a bad color match :).

 

Oh and here’s the new bed since the other bed was used as a makeshift climber for the cats.

IMG_4319

Leave a Reply

